Brendon McCullum England cricket coach: full list of England test team coaches


Brendon McCullum England Cricket Coach: The former New Zealand captain has been announced as the new head coach of the England Test squad.

The England Cricket Board have announced that Brendon McCullum will be the England cricket team’s new trial coach. It was reported that Gary Kirsten would be the team’s tryout coach, but McCullum is now officially announced as the tryout coach.

This will be Brendon McCullum’s first assignment as an international coach. Brendon McCullum is currently the head coach of the IPL Kolkata Knight Riders team, while he also won the Caribbean Premier League title with Trinbago Knight Riders.

He will leave training for Kolkata Knight Riders after the current IPL 2022 season. England will play their first Test of the summer against New Zealand, McCullum’s home country, in June.

Brendon McCullum England cricket coach

Brendon McCullum expressed his joy at joining the England team as head coach, he said he knew he would face a significant number of challenges but was ready to do the same.

“I would like to say how pleased I am to have this opportunity to contribute positively to the setup of Test cricket in England and to lead the team forward into a more successful era,” McCullum said in a press release from the ECB.

“In taking on this role, I am fully aware of the significant challenges the team is currently facing.”

Brendon McCullum also said new England Test coach Ben Stokes is the perfect character to inspire the team, and he is looking to have a fruitful partnership with him.

“Ben Stokes is the perfect character to inspire change around him, and I look forward to working closely with him to build a successful unity around us,” McCullum said in an ECB press release.

Brendon McCullum will join the England squad after the 2022 Indian Premier League ends with the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Full list of England Test team managers

Coach Mandate
Micky Stewart 1986-1992
Keith Fletcher 1992-1995
Ray Illingworth 1995-1996
David Lloyd 1996-1999
Duncan Fletcher 1999-2007
Pierre Moores 2007-2009
Andy’s Flower 2009-2014 (Test only between 2012-2014)
Pierre Moores 2014-2015
Trevor Bayliss 2015-2019
Chris Silverwood 2019-2022
Paul Collingwood 2022


Comments are closed.