Women’s hockey coach Schopman on the hour controversy

0

India’s women’s hockey team suffered a refereeing error in the semi-final penalty shootout against Australia

Photo: AP

HIGHLIGHTS

  • India’s women’s hockey team suffered a refereeing error in the 2022 CWG semi-final
  • India captain Savita Punia had saved Australia’s first shootout but it didn’t count as the clock didn’t start
  • Punia, coach Janneke Schopman expressed frustration as the officials’ mistake caused serious outrage

India suffered heartbreak in the women’s hockey semi-final against Australia after Women in Yellow won a thrilling match 3-0 in the penalty shootout after the score was 1-1 after the four quarters . However, what happened at the start of the shootout has become a huge cause for debate as many criticize the hockey federation for its recklessness in a big game like a semi-final of a massive event like the Commonwealth Games. .

Australian player Ambrosia Malone took the first penalty for her team and failed to find the net as India captain Savita Punia made an easy save. As soon as Indian striker Lalremsiami came for his shot, the referees announced that the clock had not started and the shootout was going to start again, which meant Malone came back for his shot and scored this time.
It has gone downhill for India since then as they couldn’t score a single time afterwards and not a single save from Punia as well. India team coach Janneke Schopman suggested it played on the minds of the players and she was frustrated as surely the Australian team weren’t complaining as they had a chance to redeem themselves after a failed attempt.

Related News

CWG 2022 Virender Sehwag highlights referee bias as India suffer heartbreaking loss to Australia

CWG 2022: Virender Sehwag highlights referee bias as India suffer heartbreaking loss to Australia

Heartbreak for India in CWG Women's Hockey loss to Australia in semi-final shootout

India heartbreak at CWG women’s hockey, loss to Australia in semi-final shootout

“I just don’t understand. Australia weren’t complaining…I don’t think even the officials understood what happened…that’s no excuse but it certainly didn’t help us.

“It’s difficult and I think we try as coaches to be able to (understand) but that’s life. It’s emotional and there was so much at stake. Of course they shouldn’t be swayed by that, but they “We’re humans too and that played a part. They (the players) are sad and they should be sad. We fought very hard and were very close to playing the final. They will be sad and tomorrow is a new day and we will find out what the plan will be for the next game,” she said.

Captain Savita Punia was struggling to make sense of it all while crying after the game saying these decisions are hard to make but they need to move on quickly as they have a bronze medal game to go. play Sunday against New Zealand. .

Related News

CWG 2022 Deepak Punia defeats Pakistan's Muhammad Inam wins India's third wrestling gold

CWG 2022: Deepak Punia defeats Pakistan’s Muhammad Inam to claim India’s third wrestling gold

India's CWG 2022 women's hockey team defeats Canada to enter semi-finals

CWG 2022: India’s women’s hockey team defeats Canada to advance to semi-finals

“Hard to take [the loss]above all [after what happened] in the first shot of the shootout. Such decisions are difficult to make but it is part of the sport and you have to accept it. The Australian team are among the best teams and we were trailing then we went 1-1 and fought until the last minute…we had decided before the game that we would fight until the end and girls have done it. I’m very proud.

“It will be difficult to motivate them. We have worked hard and know that the bronze medal match is very important for us. But as a captain and as a senior player, it is my duty [to motivate them]. We will make a comeback,” added Punia.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) meanwhile apologized for the refereeing error and added that the incident would be thoroughly investigated.

“In the @birminghamcg22 Commonwealth Games semi-final between Australia and India (women), the penalty shoot-out mistakenly started too early (the clock was not ready to run yet), which we apologize.

“The process in place for such situations is that the penalty shootout should be resumed, which has been done. This incident will be carefully reviewed by the FIH to avoid any similar issues in the future,” said the FIH in a series of tweets. .

It is not the first time that India have been on the receiving end of the clock without starting as the men’s time had conceded a penalty corner against New Zealand when time stood still for 15 seconds, but luckily for India, the men in black couldn’t use it and the team led by Manpreet Singh won the bronze medal match at the Tokyo Olympics last year.

Share.

Comments are closed.